The Rafael Ward Series

In tomorrow's America, belief is the new enemy.

Even a silent prayer can get you black-bagged.



The Tyrant Gods cover.jpg

The Tyrant Gods

Book Three


The revolution has begun. The Republic is in turmoil. Meanwhile, 7,000 miles away, Rafael Ward is teaching again. Granted, he’s a prisoner in a secret desert fortress, and Sam is still in a coma, but for the first time in years, he’s almost content. Until Sam’s doctor, Rivka, reveals the key to Sam’s recovery can be found in the lost tomb of Hannibal Barca.  

Together, Ward and Rivka engineer a daring escape, only to find themselves in a race against time and a mysterious assassin, to unearth Hannibal’s secrets. What they discover in the tomb will determine more than Sam’s fate. It will influence the future of MacKenzie’s revolution, as well as her relationship with the Seer. It may even lead to all-out war between the gods. 

The Spider in the Laurel Kindle Book Award
Long Oblivion
2019KBA-SEMIFINALIST SciFi trans.png

Praise for the Award-Nominated Rafael Ward Series:

"A darker, more developed Indiana Jones"

--Amazon Review

"A fascinating dystopian tale from one of speculative fiction's rising stars"

--C.T. Phipps, author of Lucifer’s Star

"Michael’s writing evokes the horror of an all too realistic future, drawing you in and leaving you shuddering in the corner, fearful of what’s to come."

--Tim Marquitz, author of the Demon Squad

"A thrilling new Fahrenheit 451 for the 21st century"

--Javiel Avila, award-winning author of Different